nav-left cat-right

2007 Mackinac Island Competition Results

Another ‘Golden Year’ of warm weather, gentle breezes and flat water welcomed this years competitors.  It was estimated that there were 912.5 fans in attendance (including a cameo by the governor) with over 369 contestants skipping.  Cris ‘Pipes’ Mulroney  won the Amateur Tournament with an impressive 21 opted for the 75lb Little David trophy and a years supply of fudge instead of slugging it out with the pros. 

The new defending Pebbles Cup Champion Drake ‘The Duck’ Lewandoski knocked off the 3 time defending champ Adam ‘The Hammer’ Eyman  with a best skip of 17 to win the Pebbles Division.

In the professional division Russ ‘Rock Bottom’ Byars blew the doors off the competition with an amazing skip of 33.  In addition to being the best skip of the day 33 is the new island record.  It has been suggested that the judges may need tri-focals next year since Russ’s skip went out past the harbor docks (some 300+ feet away).

Defending champ John ‘Skippy’ Kolar still limping with a cane this year said he would be back to full strength next year but “… a lot of my time this year will be dedicated to my burgeoning film career. You can take a sneak peak at

Crowd favorite ‘Hard Luck’ Loy has not won in years but had a commanding lead and he thanked his fan club.

Island fixture Doc Crane judged the 2nd annual ‘Kerplunking’ tournament, a real favorite with the babies. This new event is for those folks who find skipping too challenging and was open to all comers. Mike Z. from East Lansing was this years winner with a crowd pleasing splash/score of 45.4 taking home the coveted “Doc’ Crane Stone-on-a-lanyard”.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *